Sunday, August 9, 2015

Buddha and Teachings of Buddha

As mentioned the previous articles, Lord Buddha is known as the “Enlightened One” and is the founder of the Buddhism. Around 2500 years ago, Lord Buddha attained Nirvana while sitting under the Bodhi Tree.

See more:  About the life of Buddha

After the awakening, Lord Buddha thought that he would not teach the knowledge he attained after being enlightened. But then various spirits started asking Lord that they have been waiting for him for thousands of years, and asked Lord Buddha to free them from the cycle of rebirth and cycle of life. After hearing such genuine request from all form of life and spirits, Lord Buddha finally realized his main aim to realize the true meaning of life and finally set the destination to teach his knowledge to all sentient beings. After being enlightened, Lord Buddha spend the rest of his life teaching his knowledge to every sentient beings who asked to be taught.

Basic Teachings of Buddhism

During his life, Lord Buddha found the ultimate truth about three basic questions that have existed throughout the eternity. These three ultimate truths are explained below:

  1. Nothing is lost in the Universe
    The first fundamental truth is that “Nothing is lost in the Universe”. Let’s take an example of an old solar system. When a solar system is old then it starts to disintegrate but these old solar systems disintegrate into cosmic rays. We are the child of our parents and later we will become the parents of our children. 
  2. Everything changes and keeps on changing
    Everything that exists in the world keeps on changing. Before human beings existed, dinosaurs and other large animals used to rule this earth but after millions of years, human beings, and other small animals rule this earth. And after millions of years, other species will rule this world. Life can be taken in a form of a river. It keeps on flowing forward and always keeps on changing sometimes providing life to the earth and sometimes destructive destroying the life on the earth. 
  3. Law of Cause and Effect
    “The kind of seed sown
    will produce that kind of fruit.” – Dhammapada

    The third truth is the basic translation of Karma. If we do something good in the life then it will reap into good thing and if we do something bad in the life then it will reap into something bad. This is the law of Cause and Effect. The law of Cause and Effect is mentioned in the sutra of Dhammapada.

Four Noble Truths

In the first sermon that Lord Buddha preaches, he mentioned the basic meanings of three ultimate truths, the meaning of Dharma and its importance, and other principal teachings of Buddhism. Noble Four Truths is considered as the first principle teachings of Lord Buddha. Dhammacakkapavattana Sutta is considered one of the foremost sutta of Buddhism and it is mainly centered in Four Noble Truths.
These four Noble truths are:
1.    Noble Truth of Suffering or Dukkha 
2.    Noble Truth of the cause of Suffering
3.    Noble Truth of the End of Suffering
4.    Noble Truth of the Paths that Ends the Suffering

Read More: Noble Four Truths

Noble Eightfold Path

Basically, the fourth truth is the Noble Eightfold Path. Noble Eightfold Path is also known as “Middle Way” or “Middle Path”. Buddha mentioned the path through which all sentient beings can find Enlightenment. There are eight paths and they are represented in the form of Dharmachakra since the eight spokes of Dharmachakra represents the eight elements of the path.
These eight elements of Middle Way are:
1.    Right View
2.    Right Intention
3.    Right Speech
4.    Right Action
5.    Right Livelihood
6.    Right Effort
7.    Right Mindfulness
8.    Right Concentration

Read More: Noble Eightfold Path

Triple Jewel

The triple Jewel are considered as the three things that Buddhist Monks take refugees in. The triple Jewel is also known as “Triple Gems”, “Three Refugees” and “Three Treasures”. The Buddhist take refuges in these three jewels and practice their meditation and sutras and look for and provide guidance with other Buddhists. These Three Jewels are:
1.    Buddha
2.    Dharma
3.    Sangha
Read More: Dharma
Read More: Sangha

No comments:

Post a Comment